Minor hockey players earn accolades at Awards Night


Some earned more accolades than others, but each and every one of the 154 kids registered in Lillooet minor hockey this past season earned an award at the Awards Night held on April 6.

Lillooet Minor Hockey Association vice-president Bob Watkinson hosted the award evening, with help from board member Bruce Walter and head coach Ray Kennedy.

Each registered player received medals and certificates of achievement from Esso, represented at the ceremony by Lorne Esslink of Cool Creek Agencies.

In addition, in the older age groups, exceptional players were given association awards.

In the Atoms division, the award winners were: Tishyna Ned - most improved; Sam Aitken - most sportsmanlike; Simon Casper - most dedicated; Jarred Venema - most heart; Brett Watkinson and Andrew Montjoy - most valuable; Andrew Peaker - citizenship.

In the Peewee division, the award winners were: Dalton Manual and Caleb Dircks - most improved; Sawyer Cook and Nigel McLellan - most sportsmanlike; Michael Ferguson and Cole Sheridan - most dedicated; Jana McNary and Billy Galliazzo - most heart; Seth Dircks and Mitchell Sheridan - most valuable; Matt McCabe and Katie Gonzalez - citizenship.

In the Bantam division, the award winners were: Corey Larochelle - most improved; Chad deStrake - most sportsmanlike; Devon Grossler - most dedicated; Garrett Walter - most heart; Dominic Alec, Todd Kennedy and Brock Fraser - most valuable; James Keir - citizenship.

In the Midget division, the award winners were: Gavin Walter - most improved; Cory Layton - most sportsmanlike; Cory DeKelver - most dedicated; Nick Anderson - most heart; Levi Ned - most valuable; Jim Beland - citizenship.

For the Girls team, the award winners were: Tabitha Leech - most improved; Kelsey Brown - most sportsmanlike; Kaitlyn McNary, Lindsay Miller and Ashley Montague - most dedicated; Melissa O'Laney - most heart; Melody Elesko - most valuable; Jennifer Watson - citizenship.

Novice division coach Travis Peters was named coach of the year. Rhys Walter received the nod as senior referee of the year and Sean Ozanne was named junior referee of the year.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of a new award, the Association Plaque for outstanding service and dedication to minor hockey, to Pat Sullivan for the many years of service as coach and executive he has contributed to minor hockey.

article continues below

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Bridge River Lillooet News


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Bridge River Lillooet News welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Question of the Week POLL

What do you think should be the response to the rise in vaping-related illness?

or  view results